Abbeyleix Athletic Football Club
Since its foundation in 1950 by Joe Hutchinson, Abbeyleix Athletic Football Club has been to the forefront in promoting the game of Soccer in Abbeyleix. The clubs first ground was on the outskirts of Abbeyleix at Killamuck and then moved to Knocknamoe in 1960. The club is now located at Fr. Breen Park where it moved in 1962.
The club has grown from strength to strength since its formation and boasts the longest running senior team playing in County Laois. It also has one full sized pitch, an all-weather training pitch and a 7 a side Astroturf pitch
While the senior teams remain the flagship sides of the club, Abbeyleix Athletic Football Club are conscious of the importance of proper structures being put in place at underage level in order to secure the playing future of the club.